Learning teen numbers 11-20

I assessed my kinders today to see how many could just recognize the numbers 11-20 in random order. We have been working with these numbers for several weeks now. Out of 22 kids (4 were absent), only about 4 had trouble. The rest did fine! :) The ones that had trouble would say 90 for 19 or 70 for 17. Teen numbers are so confusing for them! In an earlier post I described how we would look at a number card (like 16), count out 16 unifix cubes and put them on theĀ  one’s side of a place value mat, then take 10 and move them over to the ten’s side. Well, we actually made a number book for 11-20. Each day we would do the place value mat in whole group, and then go back to our tables to do the number page for that day. This is what it looked like:

I wanted them to understand that a teen number is 10 plus some instead of just knowing the name of the number. I really thought that all of my kids would master the recognition of them after this activity, but I guess this just proves that some kids just go through the motions but don’t internalize what they are doing. Boy, I would love some suggestions on how to reach those kids. :) I wish I could structure my math just like my reading time with small groups and stations for practice-BUT…. I don’t feel like I have enough time! Especially with 26 and 2 1/2 hours of reading everyday. Maybe I’ll figure it out one day! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

